Thursday, February 4, 2010

Eight Limbs Hatha Yoga

Yoga comes to this place to increase self-awareness, with the system aid of the 8 Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga.           

This includes a universal code of conduct:

1.      Yama: codes of conduct;
2.      Niyama: recommendations for spiritual living;
3.      Asana: essence of starting with the body--steady and comfortable and balance of Abyasa (effort) and Vayragya (surrender);
4.      Pranayama: expansion and channeling of the breath;
5.      Pratyahara: drawing senses inward—life obstacles will be overcome by changing me, not the world;
6.      Pharana: mind needs to be trained through concentration;
7.      Phyana: meditation—once the “horse mind” has been trained and doesn’t have to be held anymore—wholeness, natural peace of mind.
8.      Samadi: 8 Limbs—no longer separation: wholeness in meditation, and daily living. 
                                 (Joseph Le Page, personal communication, March 18, 2004)

No comments:

Post a Comment